Skip navigation

We never could think that we will have no power for months last year. But it happened and still is. Stone town full with generators noise and smell woman with waterbuckets on there heads, give the small streets of stone town an other face and  energy, we accept and we will survive how long it take. Also we from the beautiful eyes we working hard on project two I will tell you later ,we are not waiting and sitting on the barazza, no we open the gallery now with no light the picture even become more stone towns own. I write this in livingstone THE place ware the internet still works good for them. Still visitors of our gallery are full with admiration and questions we help everyone ,I show you all an mail I received a couple days ago.

Hi Hans,

You may not remember me – I am a British guy based in Dar es Salaam who had a chat with you about photography, in your gallery just before Christmas.

I do love your photos, and use them as inspiration for my own.  I’m quite fond of portrait and landscape shots, as are you it seems.  If you do remember me, you may also remember that I’m currently in the middle of a photographic project: I try to take one good shot per day, for a year, and each one is recorded on a blog I call ‘Dar 365’:

http://web.me.com/bentreverton/Dar_365/

Please have a look if you’re interested.  And if you know anyone else you think might like it, feel free to pass on the link.  There are actually two photos in the project which were directly inspired by advice you gave me when we spoke, both are Stone Town scenes:

http://web.me.com/bentreverton/Dar_365/Dar_365/Entries/2009/12/23_day_fifty_-_rush_hour.html

and

http://web.me.com/bentreverton/Dar_365/Dar_365/Entries/2009/12/22_day_forty-seven_-_street_talk_2.html

Anyway, hope you are well, and that this ridiculous situation with Zanzibar’s electricity comes to an end soon!

Take care, and thanks once again for your advice and your beautiful photos,

Ben

So we go on and I can tell you more about project two soon



Leave a comment