Skip navigation

On New Years evening we walk into the entrance of the Serena Hotel in Zanzibar and we can already hear the buzz of the guests already present. “We” are Zakia, one of Zakia’s best friends, James, a friend photographer from Mozambique, and myself.A few months ago, James promised me a very expensive bottle of Champaign a couple of months ago and this is the perfect time to hold him to his promise.

newyear

The buffet is embellished by the local beauties, dressed in stylish kanga’s, swaying their curves to the music. Close to midnight, we all find ourselves on the dancefloor and start the countdown to the New Year. I look into the prettiest eyes of Zanzibar and experience enough of happiness to last me through the year.

newyear-2

When 2009 arrives, half of the crowd jumps into the pool, that is situated right next to the dance floor. My love and I wish for each other the things that two soulmates who go through Life together, should wish for. We can’t stop dancing, even James shows his moves…it is a beautiful evening. When we bring the ladies home through an empty Stone Town, I am filled with emotion…..a dream has become reality.

Leave a comment